Vastu/Feng Shui

Vastu/Feng Shui

Vastu/Feng Shui


Vaastu Shastra, an ancient Indian science developed thousands of years ago by ancient Indian saints and rishis, puts forward rules for the construction of buildings and temples and has been practiced for centuries.

Vaastu Shastra, an integral part of Indian architecture, having its roots extended in Indian Philosophy, maths, geology, geography, religion and takes into account, factors influencing a Site, such as topography, roads, structures around, Sun’s effects, Earth’s magnetic field, cardinal directions, Earth’s energy fields and elements of Nature.

  1. Vaastu literally means “HOUSE” or dwelling place of human beings and consists of the following:
  2. Bhoomi – means the plot or extent of land where the building is proposed.
  3. Prasada – includes the compound wall and buildings which are built within the Bhoomi (Site).
  4. Yaana – means all the (chariots) vehicles parked within the Bhoomi (Site).
  5. Shayana – includes all the furniture and utensils in the building (Prasada).

Vaastu Shastra is an ancient Indian Vedic Science of Architecture that puts down guidelines on the construction of buildings such that they are in harmony with the environment or nature. The harmony management is achieved by managing the flow of cosmic energy through and around the buildings, which in turn promotes the well-being, peace and prosperity of the inhabitants.

As per Vaastu, when buildings are in tune with the underlying cosmic principles, they become a part of the basic structure of the universe and vibrate in harmony with it. These positive vibrations are believed to have a positive effect on t by he inhabitants.

It is common sense that a properly designed house is the one which has aesthetic, hygiene, comfort, and space to move around and thereby giving pleasure of living. In such a house the inhabitants will be happy and contented, whereas, a poorly designed house will not be comfortable to live in and hence create uneasiness in the minds of the inhabitants.

Vaastu Shastra takes advantage of and manipulates the natural resources like sun, wind, air etc. and the topography of the site, the surrounding pathways, trees & plants, water sources, other structures etc. to harness the positive energy and prevent imbalance in the building and thus bring about harmony between man, nature and his built environment.

What Is Feng Shui?

The Chinese words “feng” and “shui” translate to mean “wind” and “water,” respectively. This concept derived from an ancient poem that talks about human life being connected and flowing with the environment around it.

The philosophy of feng shui is a practice of arranging the pieces in living spaces in order to create balance with the natural world. The goal is to harness energy forces and establish harmony between an individual and their environment.

In Asian culture, this philosophy is called the Tao, which translates to mean “the way.” Taoism is the way of nature and all the basic principles of feng shui reflect nature. Take a look at the essential principles of feng shui: the commanding position, the bagua, and the five elements.

The Commanding Position

The commanding position is the spot in a room that is the furthest from the door and not in direct line with it. It puts you diagonal to the door. Ideally, you should have a clear line of sight to the door. Dr Devi Chauhan is the vastu and feng shui expert in Bangkok, Thailand

The commanding position is where you want to spend most of your time when you are in that room. Feng shui guidelines suggest you determine this dominant position in the room, then place your bed, your desk, or your stove in diagonal alignment, if you can. These three parts of your house are critical since each represents an essential part of your life. The bed stands for you, the desk is an extension of your career, and the stove represents your wealth and nourishment.